top of page

5 habits you can start this month

Updated: Apr 1, 2021

5 habits you can start this month


– I realize this isn’t the run of the mill new years goal setting post, but anytime is a great time to improve yourself and start developing good habits. It can be hard to keep or even choose a habit to start, so here are some simple ideas to get you started or to inspire you to start something else. I don’t proclaim to be an expert at any of this, but I do believe that working on building habits will make you a better person and will help improve your mood overall.


1) Drink more water

Yes, I know that this is probably the most generic habit suggestion there is, but I swear by it. I’ve noticed that I feel better when I drink enough water, especially now that I live in a dry climate. Look up how much water you should drink. The answers you’ll get will vary, some basing it off your weight, some your age, etc. Try different amount suggestions out, each for a week and see which amount makes you feel the best. If you live in a really arid climate or exercise a lot, I’d increase that amount somewhat. If the amount you should be drinking seems daunting to you, start small and work up to the amount you should be drinking. After a couple weeks, you’ll be accustomed to the amount of water you’re drinking, and will start to crave the right amount of water and it won’t seem so daunting anymore. I’d definitely recommend trying it out.

2) Early to bed and early to rise

This one tends to be hard, especially for teens. I’m not saying you should sleep at 8 and get up at 6 or anything, but the sooner you go to bed (within reason, don’t go to sleep at 6 pm or anything), the better. I’ve noticed that the first week is HARD. Especially waking up earlier. But just like my water drinking suggestion, start out small with your overall goal and once you reach your goal, stick to it. The earlier I get up (again, within reason), the more productive I tend to be. I have more time to make a balanced breakfast, workout, make my bed (another great habit!), and get ready for the day. Even if you just get up half an hour earlier (depending on the time you already get up, don’t wake up before 5), you have that much more time in your morning.

3) Limit screen time

Yet another difficult habit for teens! I know you’ve heard this before, but too much time looking at screens is bad for you. Lowering the brightness of your screen and wearing uv glasses only do so much. It’s especially hard to stay away from screens during the pandemic when virtually (haha see what I did there?) everything is online. But take frequent and lengthy breaks from your device, and don’t just go look at your phone or the tv. If you can, go for a walk outside or even just walk a bit in your house. Stretch and exercise a bit. Try to get some sunlight and fresh air every day, especially in covid times. Have a time limit for watching screens if you can.

4) Keep your space clear and clutter free

Okay. I know, I sound like a nag. But seriously, I feel relieved when my desk is clear and my room is organized. This sounds like I think I’m a neat person and so it’s easy for me. NOPE. I have never been one to enjoy cleaning my room, but I have made myself organize and seriously, it feels much better afterwards. Especially if you can keep it organized. I’m still working on that part. Just take a few minutes a day and put a few things away.


5) Practice developing your hobbies/skills

Covid-19 has made it hard for many of us to do what we love. Many sports have been postponed, events have been cancelled, etc. But there are still things we can do to practice and improve. This one is a very person-specific goal. This will vary for everyone. If you’re an athlete and you can’t meet to practice, still workout and learn about techniques you can use so as soon as sports resume, you don’t have as far to recover (does that make sense?) If your ‘thing’ is more creative related, find videos of other people doing it and learn from it or if you can, try to do it. Try to not let your skills get rustier than they have to, and do what you can to get better at whatever it is you love to do.

Stay safe,

Mary

(p.s. I love feedback and suggestions for future posts)


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Greener Grass A Blog by Jessica Nino

The Greener Grass A Blog by Jessica Nino Tip Of The Day: “Let your unique awesomeness and positive energy inspire confidence in others.” -Anonymous. Whatever energy you have, your surroundings will so

The Greener Grass: Medical Racism & Discrimination

The Greener Grass A Blog by Jessica Nino Tip Of The Day: find one thing to be thankful for today. You are alive and i’m thankful for that. <3 Medical Racism & Discrimination: What is it? All used sour

Grandmother's Kitchen.

My grandmother’s kitchen has always been small-with a stove, a miniature oven, and a diminutive shelf for hanging kitchen tools. But out of it came dishes redolent in aromas: steaming noodles, a nest

bottom of page