top of page

The Greener Grass A Blog by Jessica Nino

Updated: Jun 10, 2021

The Greener Grass

A Blog by Jessica Nino

Tip Of The Day: “Let your unique awesomeness and positive energy inspire confidence in others.” -Anonymous. Whatever energy you have, your surroundings will soon follow it. Make it positive.<3



15 Abstract Pieces To Dive Into & Interpret

Reminder: Art is abstract, and subjective. The commentary for these pieces is based on my personal feelings, beliefs, experiences, and perspective. You may or may not interpret these pieces as I did, and you are in the right to disagree with any comments because of how subjective art is. Included pieces are: Music, Paintings, Writing, and Theories.

I try to choose the most diverse, deep, pieces open for interpretive discussion. Unfortunately, some of these pieces may be graphic or trigger you as the reader, so please be aware before looking into the topic. I will add disclaimers to topics I believe may have triggering effects.

1. The Butterfly Effect


Related to the Chaos Theory, The Butterfly Effect began as a concept related to mathematics and weather predictions. The main concept of The Butterfly Effect is “Does the flap of a butterfly’s wings in Brazil set off a tornado in Texas?” In simpler terms, the thought that the small flap of a butterfly wing could trigger a set of movements into motion that would later have a much greater effect, this theory was then turned into a more philosophical question. The question has now become, what are some of the small things I did that could have set in motion something much greater in my life?

2. Old Guitarist by Pablo Picasso


My interpretation of this is “Passion to and through death”. I believe if we are passionate enough about anything we are willing to do it until we die and it will continue to live on as part of us after we die. It may be something that brings us peace or drains our spirit until death, but overall it will continue to be something about us that will live on.

3. Rosie No. 1 by Tim Okamura


This piece takes a twist on the Rosie the Riveter art used to empower women, and makes her a woman of color. This piece is beyond powerful reminding all women of their strength and power. It’s an uplifting piece for not only black women, but for all women of color, as it serves as a reminder of true hard work, prosperity, and determination. It still uplifts all women,and just gives a view on who many tend to forget.

4. Boulevard Montmartre by Camille Pissarro


This beautiful piece by Camille Pissarro reminds me of how fast life and the world is. I believe that as humans we tend to like a fast track of things and are constantly looking for something new. It also reminds me of the beauty around us in the city and to sometimes slow down and take it all in.

5. Bezold Effect


The Bezold effect is an optical illusion. The main concept is to look at the objects shown and picture them without the vertical lines. If you focus enough, The one on the left will look purple and the one on the right will look orange. In reality, the one on the left is red and blue and the one on the right is yellow and light red. Our eyes tend to mesh both of the colors together to make the object seem solid colored and that results in us seeing purple and orange.

6. Invisible String


The invisible string also known as the red thread of fate is one of my favorite “theories”. In Asia, it is believed that when two soulmates are born, they are tied together by an invisible string. China believes it is around their ankle and Japan and Korea believe it is around their pinkies. Although the invisible string may knot, pull, and get tangled, it will never tear meaning everyone will eventually meet their soulmate at one point or another.

7. This Is America Music Video by Childish Gambino


This video contains graphic scenes, disturbing images and may trigger sensitive viewers.

Although I am sure many have seen this video already, I would suggest you give it another look. As a freshman, I was told to analyze this video to its full depth. Although many have already spotted hidden messages and hints related to oppression and issues among America, take another look. Questions I would suggest to keep in mind that are similar to the ones I was also asked:

What significance does the first scene carry? (notice how both objects are taken and dragged away)

What is the purpose of all the dancing?

What is happening with all the cars and the children throwing money on them?

What is the purpose of the chickens/roosters by the cars?

Why are people running in opposite directions or against each other?

What does the intermediate silence signify?

Why does the guitar man return but is covered?

Why is there silence in the final car scene, where did the chaos go?

How does the running in the final scene with the high pitched ending noise of the song differ from the chaos?

8. Self Portraits by William Utermohlen


These self portraits are from an artist who was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease. This disease slowly erases parts of your brain and the functions in them. It is a slow process taking years to complete its form. As we see from his paintings, the process slowly erases you and can distort self perception.

9. The Tell-Tale Heart by Edgar Allen Poe


This captivating story is about a man who hides someone under his wood floor. After being investigated and searched throughout his home, what he deems to be a heartbeat slowly drives him crazy and guilt trips him to insanity.

10. The Louvre by Lorde


A (personal) favorite, this song has as many turns and is as breathtaking as The Louvre itself. It tends to allow an almost mesmerizing story to flow into your imagination about summer and its adventure related to possible love and teen spirit.

11. Poppy Flowers by Vincent Van Gogh


This painting does well in engulfing you with its beauty. A simple yet amazing vase of flowers demanding your attention and relieving you of your worries. What do these flowers mean to you (if anything at all)?

12. The Flowers by Alice Walker


This writing mentions disturbing images and will potentially trigger readers.

The flowers is another piece I analyzed as a freshman. Although it contains unimaginable horrors, it is a very descriptive piece that will without a doubt snap you into the reality of times before us and possibly our own realities.

13. A Lot Music Video by 21 Savage



This video is overall very reflective of the oppression society tends to hand out to people whether they are minorities, women, or face poverty.

14. The Black Cat By Edgar Allen Poe


This writing contains graphic scenes, and may trigger sensitive viewers.

This writing is about how in the end, your actions catch up to you. In the story a black cat constantly nags at the main character until revealing the horrendous truth he hides. But, was it really a black cat? Or is it meant to highlight something or someone's prevalent issues in the time period it was written?

15. These Semi Feelings, They are Everywhere by dne


After any of the pieces before this one, I'm sure your brain would need a break. This album is as unique as it seems. Unlike many songs, you can fully drown into the music this album has without hesitation.

Contact me



Hi! I would love to hear your ideas, suggestions, and feedback on the content I am regularly publishing! I believe it is important I stay connected with yall and am able to positively connect and learn from yalls criticism and suggestions to help me improve as a writer. I encourage you to send me ideas and suggestions based on what you’d like to read about so that I can regularly connect with you all as well as better understand your interests, and help y’all destress, learn, and enjoy my content. -Love, J

You can contact me through the following links and medias:

Gmail: jessicanino2004@gmail.com

Twitter: 1andxnlynino

And

Instagram: jjessicaninoo (also found at the top of the page next to the title, you can reach my profile by clicking the IG icon or looking it up through the username)

The best way to reach me would be through either Email or instagram, I am constantly checking both. Don't be shy! Even if you don’t have suggestions, if you need a safe space, feel emotionally/mentally stressed, are feeling anxious, depressed, or just need a friend, I am always available!





FAQs

Who Am I?

My Name is Jessica & I am a blogger for the CPSB (college prep student bubble) I was given the wonderful ability to create content for you all as a way to relax or entertain/learn while you prepare for AP/college.

What Are My Interests?

My interests include painting, volleyball, discovering music, reading (mostly sci-fi or romance), writing about absolutely anything and interacting with new people! I believe having hobbies and consistently participating in them helps you mentally and physically destress, so if you haven't done something you enjoy today, take the time to do it :).

What Do I Intend For This Blog?

This blog was created for you as a student to get some daily reading in on something that interests you. This became a resource because AP and college can very often be stressful and a handful, my purpose is to entertain you and help you stay motivated. My writing can be seen as a brain break or relaxer to those who are interested in it. I intend to make this a very chill spot for you all and to bring weekly content on any topic imaginable you suggest/want.

What Grade Am I In & What Courses Am I Taking?

I am an incoming Junior for the 2020-21 year, and will be graduating with the class of ‘22. I am an Early College High School student, so half of my classes are highschool and the other half are college. My classes this year will include: English 4 dual credit, Geometry PAP, Environmental Systems PAP, US History, (high school). For my first semester in college I am taking College English, Texas Government, and Philosophy.

More About My Writing: How did I come up with ‘The Greener Grass’? Very often I heard the saying “the grass isn't always greener on the other side” I decided to name my blog after this to give it a positive connotation: it doesn’t matter what side of the “grass’’ were on, sure it may not be the greenest, but I think that by being positive & interacting we can make our grass greener. To me this means we can help each other out, we can teach and learn from each other; we will all eventually feel stress, pressure, & frustration, but together we can make the most out of it and encourage each other & grow.

Cites used, referenced and helpful related to this content:














23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Greener Grass: Medical Racism & Discrimination

The Greener Grass A Blog by Jessica Nino Tip Of The Day: find one thing to be thankful for today. You are alive and i’m thankful for that. <3 Medical Racism & Discrimination: What is it? All used sour

Grandmother's Kitchen.

My grandmother’s kitchen has always been small-with a stove, a miniature oven, and a diminutive shelf for hanging kitchen tools. But out of it came dishes redolent in aromas: steaming noodles, a nest

Fast Fashion, What Is It?

The Greener Grass A Blog by Jessica Nino Tip of the Day: watch your favorite vine or video<3 Fast Fashion, What Is It? Fast fashion is the mass production of clothes and accessories in an attempt to k

bottom of page