top of page

Fast Fashion, What Is It?

The Greener Grass

A Blog by Jessica Nino

Tip of the Day: watch your favorite vine or video<3



Fast Fashion, What Is It?

Fast fashion is the mass production of clothes and accessories in an attempt to keep up with styles that are trending and in high demand. Fast fashion brands are mostly considered cheap and many are online retailers. Fast fashion companies have recently become extremely popular due to how they are able to meet the high demand and produce clothes at such a low price.

What Makes Fast Fashion Bad?

The downside of fast fashion is that it disregards the processes to produce environmentally safe products, and it uses toxic and polluted materials because they are cheaper. Often enough, customers will agree they noticed the fabric feels cheaper, and the dyes fade away or affect the item, as well as how some purchased items smell of chemicals. Fast Fashion also hires workers under undesirable conditions, such as overworking them, underpaying them, and dismissing their basic needs. Workers are often denied services other jobs don’t tend to think twice about, thus making their environment harsher than the average work space and is the exact reason it is frowned upon.

Controversy Around fast Fashion

Fast fashion becomes controversial when its prices come in. People have commented that although they do not support the process, it is ultimately what they can afford next to thrift stores. Many believe to quit fast fashion they have to buy sustainably made items which often result in a higher price some cannot afford. People are often quick to mention they recycle or give their clothes away once through with them, but overall, it doesn’t change the fact they add to the high demand of products these retailers receive. When clothes are donated, they have a certain amount of time to be sold. If they do not get sold in that time they end up thrown in landfills or donated to developing countries. Many companies already own factories in developing countries, further harming them by dumping their chemicals and dyes into their water.

Greenwashing And its Connection to Fast Fashion

Companies like H&M have made “sustainable” lines of clothing that claim to be eco friendly. Greenwashing is the act of making themselves seem more eco friendly than they really are. As Hasan Minhaj explains in his episode of fast fashion on “The Patriot Act” (linked below), fast fashion brands will claim they used recycled material on their item, and the only piece of recycled material found on it is the actual price tag. Another example of Greenwashing is claiming they replaced a certain material during a process like water during the dying process, and the water used in the process only being 1% of the whole manufacturing process.

Alternatives to Fast Fashion

Below are 2 links to help begin to slow the demand of fast fashion and find good alternatives of shops to use within your budget. Besides highly recommending you read those, I recommend you look into local thrift stores, and small local businesses that have recently opened or are open and fit your price point. So at this point you might be wondering, How can I tell what is and isn't fast fashion? Some good examples are retailers that often work months to release their product. Well known brands include: Burberry, Gucci, Tommy Hilfiger, and even Nike and Adidas have claimed to be stepping towards a greener approach. More affordable brands include: Pact, Levis, Alternative Apparel, Athleta and Columbia. There are many more under the first and third link under the “Stores that Are NOT Fast Fashion” section.


If I Can't/Don’t Quit Fast Fashion, How Can I Still Help?

Many believe to quit fast fashion they have to buy sustainably made items which often result in a higher price some cannot afford. If you cannot or don’t want to completely abandon retailers of fast fashion, Hasan Minhaj also mentioned if you can wear the clothes for an extra 9 months, you’d already be making a difference. Other tips would be to thrift instead of constantly buying from fast fashion stores, and to slowly cut back on the amount you purchase, as well as considering if you really need it. Doing this would slow the demand and labor towards fast fashion clothes as well as begin to help the environment by not tossing every piece you buy into a landfill every week.

Fast Fashion Retailers You May Be Familiar With:

Zara

Zaful

Shein

Romwe

FashionNova

Forever 21

H&M

Urban Outfitters

Aeropostale

Missguided

Dollskill

Topshop

Victoria’s Secret

American Eagle

Etc.




Contact me



Hi! I would love to hear your ideas, suggestions, and feedback on the content I am regularly publishing! I believe it is important I stay connected with yall and am able to positively connect and learn from yalls criticism and suggestions to help me improve as a writer. I encourage you to send me ideas and suggestions based on what you’d like to read about so that I can regularly connect with you all as well as better understand your interests, and help y’all destress, learn, and enjoy my content. -Love, J

You can contact me through the following links and medias:

Twitter: 1andxnlynino

And

Instagram: jjessicaninoo (also found at the top of the page next to the title, you can reach my profile by clicking the IG icon or looking it up through the username)

The best way to reach me would be through either Email or instagram, I am constantly checking both. Don't be shy! Even if you don’t have suggestions, if you need a safe space, feel emotionally/mentally stressed, are feeling anxious, depressed, or just need a friend, I am always available!





FAQs

Who Am I?

My Name is Jessica & I am a blogger for the CPSB (college prep student bubble) I was given the wonderful ability to create content for you all as a way to relax or entertain/learn while you prepare for AP/college.

What Are My Interests?

My interests include painting, volleyball, discovering music, reading (mostly sci-fi or romance), writing about absolutely anything and interacting with new people! I believe having hobbies and consistently participating in them helps you mentally and physically destress, so if you haven't done something you enjoy today, take the time to do it :).

What Do I Intend For This Blog?

This blog was created for you as a student to get some daily reading in on something that interests you. This became a resource because AP and college can very often be stressful and a handful, my purpose is to entertain you and help you stay motivated. My writing can be seen as a brain break or relaxer to those who are interested in it. I intend to make this a very chill spot for you all and to bring weekly content on any topic imaginable you suggest/want.

What Grade Am I In & What Courses Am I Taking?

I am an incoming Junior for the 2020-21 year, and will be graduating with the class of ‘22. I am an Early College High School student, so half of my classes are highschool and the other half are college. My classes this year will include: English 4 dual credit, Geometry PAP, Environmental Systems PAP, US History, (high school). For my first semester in college I am taking College English, Texas Government, and Philosophy.

More About My Writing: How did I come up with ‘The Greener Grass’? Very often I heard the saying “the grass isn't always greener on the other side” I decided to name my blog after this to give it a positive connotation: it doesn’t matter what side of the “grass’’ were on, sure it may not be the greenest, but I think that by being positive & interacting we can make our grass greener. To me this means we can help each other out, we can teach and learn from each other; we will all eventually feel stress, pressure, & frustration, but together we can make the most out of it and encourage each other & grow.

Cites used, referenced and helpful related to this content:


Stores that are NOT fast fashion & which ones to avoid









19 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

The Greener Grass A Blog by Jessica Nino

The Greener Grass A Blog by Jessica Nino Tip Of The Day: “Let your unique awesomeness and positive energy inspire confidence in others.” -Anonymous. Whatever energy you have, your surroundings will so

The Greener Grass: Medical Racism & Discrimination

The Greener Grass A Blog by Jessica Nino Tip Of The Day: find one thing to be thankful for today. You are alive and i’m thankful for that. <3 Medical Racism & Discrimination: What is it? All used sour

Grandmother's Kitchen.

My grandmother’s kitchen has always been small-with a stove, a miniature oven, and a diminutive shelf for hanging kitchen tools. But out of it came dishes redolent in aromas: steaming noodles, a nest

bottom of page