top of page

A List Of Movies To Get You in the Halloween Spirit

Updated: Apr 1, 2021

The Greener Grass

A Blog by Jessica Nino                                                                        


A List Of Movies To Get You In the Halloween Spirit

Since it’s October and Halloween is right around the corner, I’ve composed a list of scary movies to help you be in the full October spirit. Here are some movies to send shivers down your spine.

Pure horror


The Conjuring Series (2 movies) – R – Directed by James Wan; This series takes on multiple cases of Ed & Lorraine Warrens’ supernatural experiences and turns them into nightmare fueled movies.This is a personal favorite, I watch probably monthly (don’t judge me). My first one is my favorite, and the plots as well as acting is immaculate (in my opinion). 

The Purge Movies (4 movies) – R – Directed By James DeMonaco; In a society where crime is rampant, citizens are given 12 hours to commit any crime they please without consequence, with no help from health care workers. I also personally love these movies with the second one being my favorite. Like the conjuring, you don\’t have to watch them in order because they all have their set of characters and plot which change frequently. The purge reminds me of movies like Divergent and The Hunger Games, but if the societies went insane. They’re also very realistic and call to attention how many times those who are poor suffer the most in our society. 

Sinister 2 – R – Ciaran Foy; Evil tapes influence the young to take on rather sinister actions and become violent towards those they love the most. I prefer Sinister 2 over the first one. Sinister 2 does a great job of creeping you at the edge of your seat while slowly creeping fear into you. 

Insidious – PG-13 – James Wan; What is believed to be a young boy in a coma soon turns into the discovery that his soul is at stake with something inexplicably evil. I consider this one more of a classic since I\’ve watched it for so many years. Although there is a lot of commentary and talking, I think the ending wraps it up very well. This is a movie I recommend you watch at night to feel scared. 

Pet Sematary – R – Mary Lambert or Kevin Kolsch, Dennis Widmyer; Both versions revolve around the loss of a loved one and the attempt to bring them back without considering the amount of things that can go wrong. I actually laughed during this movie multiple times but that\’s because fear triggers my jokes as a defense mechanism. I wouldn’t consider a favorite, but it does a decent job of scaring you and slowly reels you in. 

Annabelle – R – John R. Leonetti; A spinoff to the first Conjuring movie, this tells the malicious origin of a notoriously haunted doll. I actually have an Annabelle rag doll in my room, which I love because I am a Conjuring/Anabelle fanatic. Although it is scary, I feel like this movie carries much more suspense letting scenes build up until the final reveal at the end. 

The Orphanage – R – J.A. Bayona; A woman returns to her childhood home that was once an orphanage with her family. Soon, her son makes contact with its old inhabitors. This is another childhood movie of mine which I love as well. Although there is lots of back and forth speaking in this, it is important you pay it your full attention because there’s little clues dropped throughout the movie that finally piece the ending together.

Friday The 13th – R – Sean S. Cunningham; The notorious Halloween movie takes place around a group of counselors and their battle with death as a masked serial killer chases them around camp. This movie IS a classic. It might not be as scary or gory as modern movies and the stunts are a little bit more obvious, but as a classic, I deemed it worthy of being on this list. The console game for this is also very fun. 

The Silence Of the Lambs – R – Jonathan Demme; This movie follows a case of investigation leading one serial killer to another. I haven’t seen this movie yet but it’s definitely on my list. I’ve also heard it has somewhat of a psychological aspect, so I think it’s important to keep in mind details and symbolism to fully understand the film.

It – R – Andy Muschietti ; A shape shifting monster disguised as a clown terrorizes a group of kids. This movie is a modernized version of the older “It”, and I think it worked as a remake because of the way the visuals get in your head and the line between reality and fantasy is blurred.

The Strangers – R – Bryan Bertino; Based on real events, The Strangers tells the terrifying reality around a family stalked and attacked by complete strangers wishing people harm for fun. I also really love this movie because it\’s not something you have to believe in to be scared. Unlike most others, this movie has no paranormal feel to it and it’s based on true events.

Scream – R – Wes Craven; A masked serial killer terrorizes a girl and her friends with a ‘game’ involving horror films. This is another classic I\’ve been missing out on, but my cousin is literally obsessed with this movie. It is also on my list and just gives off classic halloween vibes.

Dead Silence – R – James Wan; The products of a deceased ventriloquist are used to haunt and torture people as their makers’ curse. I’ve been watching this movie for years but I’ve heard that many people got nightmare from the first time they watched it, so I’d consider this one for a while. This movie does contain dolls and dummies throughout, so if that freaks you out, maybe it’s not a great idea to watch this one.

Saw – R – James Wan; Victims are forced to play horrendous torture games in captivity of a serial killer. This movie is good if you’re into more of a gore and violence vibe. Gore and torture is the whole point. If you’re sensitive to that I would not recommend because it’s showcased throughout the entire movie.

Thriller/Suspense

Don’t Breathe – R – Fede Alvarez; A group of friends break into a blind veterans’ home hoping to take a bit of cash from him; only then do they find behind his door that it costs them much more. I watched this movie in theatres and it was very good. There are moments where everything is pitch black and you feel like you are in the same position as the characters by having to use your ears instead of your eyes. I’d recommend this movie at night.

Split – PG-13 – M. Night Shyamalan; A man with multiple personalities kidnaps a group of girls with a peculiar plan and reason behind it. Split is the type of movie to have you screaming at your screen the whole time. I definitely recommend you give your whole attention into this to understand it as well, as to maybe watch it with everyone so you’re not the only one screaming at a screen.

The Call – R – Brad Anderson; After being kidnapped from the mall, Casey calls 911 to report her incident immediately. Her 911 dispatcher becomes involved in her case fearing the man behind it is the same man from a previous case she answered. I absolutely love this movie with my movie-fanatic spirit. After Jordan (Halle Berry) receives factors from a kidnapper that remind her of a horrendous case she previously dispatched, she is determined to find his victim. This movie has you gripping te edge of your seat and is almost like a murder mystery. 

Unhinged – R – Derrick Borte; After an argument on the road between two strangers, the antagonist (Russell Crowe) decides he’s going to make matters a bit worse by road raging his victim.  I have not seen this movie yet, but it will be available to rent on Redbox November 17th and it seems very fast paced which adds to the suspense aspects. 

The Boy – PG-13 – William Brent Bell; A family that lost their son in a fire kept a lookalike doll of him in their house to commemorate him. During a vacation, the family calls for a nanny to take care of their doll. The ill intentions and history behind the doll are finally revealed once the nanny arrives. I like this movie because even if you do not believe in paranormal happenings, the end has a more realistic approach to tie it all together.

A Quiet Place – PG-13 – John Krasinski; In an apocalyptic scenario, John Krasinski and Emily Blunt go to extreme lengths to protect their family from monsters. Like Don’t Breathe, and even Bird Box, characters are forced to give up a sense in order to survive. This movie is great to watch at night and in complete silence because most of the movie is silent. If you lose yourself in the movie enough like I did,  you’ll actually find yourself avoiding anything that makes noise.

With A Friend Like Harry – R – Dominick Moll; As two highschool friends reunite and become friends again years later, one takes their friendship and intentions much more seriously. I have not seen this movie but it is from the earlier 2000’s and has a very good rating, leading me to believe that it was well put together and interesting enough to keep the audience engaged. If Among Us was a movie I think it would be this one.

Zodiac – R – David Fincher; Based around the notorious Zodiac Killer from the 70’s, a group of detectives take on the job of finding the serial killer terrorizing their town. Another one I have yet to watch, this movie also rates relatively high and I think s a great option for those who watch murder and serial killer documentaries. 

I Saw The Devil – NR – Jee-Woon Kim; An agent seeks revenge from a serial killer through a highly planned mindset. This is an Asian filmed and influenced movie which is interesting because many times I realize I mostly watch American movies. If you want to switch vibes for a suspense movie I’d recommend this to see how you like it and if it varies from the traditional American movie. 

Devil – PG-13 – John Erick Dowdle; After 5 strangers find themselves stuck in an elevator due to a power outage, they soon find out they’re not alone. Another movie I’ve grown up with; this also gives off Among Us vibes by slowly killing characters off until the truth comes out, having the characters trapped in a small space gave me a bit of anxiety but then again: that’s the point. 

Psychological

Us – R – Jordan Peele; A family decides to go on a vacation and soon finds not everything is what it seems. Coincidences and childhood fears contribute to the anxiety and danger they find themselves in.There are many small details in this movie you need to understand in seconds to help click the pieces together. It is set up in an everyday setting which is incredible to make your mind wander off into what you would do or how you would react.

Get Out – R – Jordan Peele; After a Black young man visits his girlfriend\’s white parents, he begins to feel uneasy. Soon enough his uniseaniss is justified and he realizes what was causing it.  Jordan Peele does a great job of making the viewer feel squeamish and uncomfortable to help build up the paranoid view the main character holds to talk about racial issues and worries overall. 

Vivarium – R – Lorcan Finnegan; A young couple tries looking for a home and when they find one they’re interested in, they become lost in the gated community. They soon realize every house, street, features are identical. There seems to be no escape. I have been wanting to watch this movie but haven’t had the opportunity to yet. I think the concept is overall trippy considering formality and ‘escape’ in our lives. I’ve also read this movie holds similarities to the real issues concerning house buying and renting as well as mortgage. 

Midsommar – R – Ari Aster; After a couple takes a trip to sweden for a mid summer festival they become involved in a competitively dangerous cult. Like Vivarium, I plan to watch this very soon, but I think the concept is incredible in the way it sets the character up for the unknown and how we learn to fear anything foreign, but also how no sign of escape often leads to settling or giving in. 

The Lovely Bones – PG-13 – Peter Jackson; A young murdered girl watches over both her family and her killer, their healing and guilt process and she tries to find her way to eternal happiness. This movie is incredible in portraying the process a murderer has as well as the feelings for it. This movie also shows the quick change of death and how everything is suddenly left behind: loved ones, plans, friends, dreams, etc. I would not call this movie scary, because it has more of a “what happens next” feel.

Parasite – R – Bong Joon Ho; Meant to show class systems in Korea, parasite follows a young man working for a high class family and what he risks to finally live with commodities like theirs. I absolutely enjoyed the symbolism and deeper meaning behind this movie as well as the representation. It shows the struggles of not only social class but being a minimum wage worker and how they struggle to ever find control.

The Shining – R – Stanley Kubrick; A family head to an Isolated hotel and members of the family are taken over with the force of a sinister spirit. This movie is the epitome of classic horror from paranormal to a strange home and secrets. 

Ju-On:The Grudge – R – Takashi Shimizu; An evil spirit terrorizes anyone who enters their cursed home. I really like this movie (if i’m not mistaken this is the original Grudge), due to how old it is and how original it also is. This movie is similar to the ring movies but I tend to enjoy it more solely based on the plotline and purpose.

Frozen – R – Adam Green; After being stuck mid air on a chairlift, a group of people have to make choices with the limited options they’re offered if they want to survive the freezing night. This movie has no paranormal aspects either but I enjoyed it because it pits the characters in a very “bad luck” type of situation many wouldn’t bother considering. Time is a crucial factor in this movie making every decision important.

Animated (kid Friendly)

The Nightmare Before christmas; The king of Halloweentown stumbles into Christmas town. As he tries to bring Christmas to Halloweentown, there is much confusion between their inhabitants. I just watched this movie the other day and I really like the approach it takes, although the king (Jack Skellington) rules Halloween town, many times we want a change because consistency can become bland. 

Coraline – PG – Henry Selick; After Coraline finds an alternate version of her home and life, she begins to wander into it more. Her alternate life has better versions of everything her regular life has, but with ill intentions. I consider this movie THE halloween movie. I’ve loved this movie for years and the concept is a really interesting take on the “be careful what you wish for” moral. 

Frankenweenie – PG- Tim Burton; A young boy loses his dog and tries to revive him in efforts to get more time with him. I have not seen this movie but I imagine it to be the nice version of Pet Sematary.

Corpse Bride – PG – Tim Burton; A young man practices wedding vows near a dead woman and causes her to rise from her grave with the idea they’re married. I also haven’t seen this movie (sorry I\’m uncultured) but I do like the concept or a corpse being oblivious for the love of a man that never intended it for her. 

Monster House – PG – Gil Kenan; A group of teens finds that their neighbors house is a living monster disguised as a house. I think this movie is cute. It’s funny, it takes you on a little adventure and still gives you that haunted house spooky vibe. It does its job.

Hotel Transylvania – PG- Genndy Tartakovsky; A vampire runs a hotel for non human creatures and monsters but things go sideways when a human shows up. I think this movie is great for halloween night because it deals with many halloween related things like vampires and scary creatures and it\’s also very cute and funny. 

Scooby Doo – PG – Raja Raja Gosnell; The Mystery Inc. gang is sent out to an island to investigate its strange occurrences. This movie is great because everyone already knows without watching it that Shaggy and Scooby are going to mess things up. I grew up with this one as well and it’s cool seeing animations come to life for a movie. 

Soft Horror/ Horror Free

Halloweentown – G – Duwayne Dunham; A young girl and her good witch grandmother are sent to save Halloweentown, their monster hometown, from evil forces. A Disney classic, Halloweentown is another halloween night go-to that most youth is bound to enjoy and laugh at.

Goosebumps – PG – Rob Letterman; After R.L. Stines’ imaginary monsters are set free, his daughter and a young teenage boy must find them. Like Monster House, this movie is pretty cute and does it’s job of bringing books and a series to a more modern life. 

Scary Movie – R – Keenan Ivory Wayans; After a group of teenagers tries to cover up an accidental murder, a real serial killer begins to stalk them. This is a movie made to make you laugh at dumb jokes and the absolute randomest things, which it does a great job of. 

Maleficent – PG – Robert Stromberg; A take on Aurora’s villain, Maleficent’s story is told from her youth to the turning point as a villain. The movie does a great job of giving information to question if Maleficent even is a villain and what her true intentions were. 

Twitches – PG – Stuart Gillard; Sister witches meet on their 21st birthday after learning they were separated. After years of forgetting about the underland she once visited besides in her dreams, Alice finds herself once again in Wonderland reunited with some friends, but learns the queen wants her in her reign of terror. 

Extra: Childhood Halloween Specials 

Ordered by show title, season, and episode

Zack and Cody 1×19

Jessie 2×1

Jessie 4×18

Lizzie McGuire 1×24 

Kim Possible 1×14

Boy Meets World 5×17

A.N.T Farm 2×13

A.N.T Farm 3×12

That\’s so Raven 2×2 

Shake it Up 2×4

Wizards of Waverly Place 3×2 

Good Luck Charlie 2×25

Good Luck Charlie 3×15 

Hannah Montana 1×17

Dog With A Blog 2×3

Liv and Maddie 3×4


Contact me

Hi! I would love to hear your ideas, suggestions, and feedback on the content I am regularly publishing! I believe it is important I stay connected with yall and am able to positively connect and learn from yalls criticism and suggestions to help me improve as a writer. I encourage you to send me ideas and suggestions based on what you’d like to read about so that I can regularly connect with you all as well as better understand your interests, and help y’all destress, learn, and enjoy my content. -Love, J

You can contact me through the following links and medias:

Gmail: jessicanino2004@gmail.com

Twitter: 1andxnlynino 

And 

Instagram: jjessicaninoo (also found at the top of the page next to the title, you can reach my profile by clicking the IG icon or looking it up through the username)

The best way to reach me would be through either Email or instagram, I am constantly checking both. Don\’t be shy! Even if you don’t have suggestions, if you need a safe space, feel emotionally/mentally stressed, are feeling anxious, depressed, or just need a friend, I am always available!


FAQs

Who Am I? 

My Name is Jessica & I am a blogger for the CPSB (college prep student bubble) I was given the wonderful ability to create content for you all as a way to relax or entertain/learn while you prepare for AP/college. 

What Are My Interests? 

My interests include painting, volleyball, discovering music, reading (mostly sci-fi or romance), writing about absolutely anything and interacting with new people! I believe having hobbies and consistently participating in them helps you mentally and physically destress, so if you haven\’t done something you enjoy today, take the time to do it :). 

What Do I Intend For This Blog?

This blog was created for you as a student to get some daily reading in on something that interests you. This became a resource because AP and college can very often be stressful and a handful, my purpose is to entertain you and help you stay motivated. My writing can be seen as a brain break or relaxer to those who are interested in it. I intend to make this a very chill spot for you all and to bring weekly content on any topic imaginable you suggest/want. 

What Grade Am I In & What Courses Am I Taking?

I am an incoming Junior for the 2020-21 year, and will be graduating with the class of ‘22. I am an Early College High School student, so half of my classes are highschool and the other half are college. My classes this year will include: English 4 dual credit, Geometry PAP, Environmental Systems PAP, US History, (high school). For my first semester in college I am taking College English, Texas Government, and Philosophy. 

More About My Writing: How did I come up with ‘The Greener Grass’? Very often I heard the saying “the grass isn\’t always greener on the other side” I decided to name my blog after this to give it a positive connotation: it doesn’t matter what side of the “grass’’ were on, sure it may not be the greenest, but I think that by being positive & interacting we can make our grass greener. To me this means we can help each other out, we can teach and learn from each other; we will all eventually feel stress, pressure, & frustration, but together we can make the most out of it and encourage each other & grow. 

Cites used, referenced and helpful related to this content:

TikTok: lleahrobinson

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page