top of page

How Back To School Will Affect Covid Rates: What To Expect and How To Stay Safe

The Greener Grass

A Blog by Jessica Nino

Please remember to stay safe loves! <3


Many, if not all, K-12 students have already begun attending classes for the 2021-22 school year. Like myself, many of you are back to in-person learning or had limited/no remote option for this year. Finding yourselves back in such a large public space with less strict mandates, covid may still be a cause for concern to many. Taking those circumstances into consideration, many of us ask ourselves, What can we expect for the next couple of months?

As some states are no longer requiring masks, we can presume a spike will occur at schools. With large bodies of people in such small crowded places like hallways, cafeterias, assemblies, and pick up/drop off stops, we begin to worry about our safety. In the United States, Canada, and Germany, we were already seeing speculations of a fourth wave expected to hit in December. Bringing students back to school can only be expected to speed up the wave. With only about 50% of the U.S. population vaccinated, we have also seen a spike in hospitals once again. Once again, many city hospitals have reached their maximum capacity like they did a year ago. 9 out of 10 hospitalized cases are stated to be unvaccinated. The fourth wave of Covid is “inevitably” expected to hit many countries and spikes are already revealing themselves.

Overall, we can definitely expect a spike in rates, especially from those who remain unvaccinated. With the Delta variant, some vaccinated have still been infected, but overall those who are not vaccinated pose the highest risk. States are opening up again, but cities are asking to keep mandates put.

Having started school early August with no mask mandate in order, I was seriously concerned for my safety and that of others, especially the unvaccinated and immunocompromised. After two days of no mask mandate at schools, every large city in my state opposed the government and placed a mask mandate once again. Because of how recent it is, no surge has been reported considering those, if any, infected are barely beginning to feel the effects of the virus; I am sure there will be a surge and spike of cases from those two days. Please be aware of our worsening situation regarding this sickness once again, get vaccinated and stay masked if you are willing and able to.

To help, here are some scenarios to have in mind when washing your hands:

Wash your hands like you touched a pepper and have to remove contact lenses.

Wash your hands like they have dye and you’re wearing very expensive white clothes.

Wash your hands like the kid that picks his nose high fived you.

Reasons to keep your mask on:

Someone has probably already farted or is planning to do so soon.

It's summer, it’s hot, kids get musty.

No one can see the faces you make under it.

You can talk to yourself.

What if something is stuck between your teeth?

Your mask can match your outfit.





Contact me



Hi! I would love to hear your ideas, suggestions, and feedback on the content I am regularly publishing! I believe it is important I stay connected with yall and am able to positively connect and learn from yalls criticism and suggestions to help me improve as a writer. I encourage you to send me ideas and suggestions based on what you’d like to read about so that I can regularly connect with you all as well as better understand your interests, and help y’all destress, learn, and enjoy my content. -Love, J

You can contact me through the following links and medias:

Twitter: 1andxnlynino

And

Instagram: jjessicaninoo (also found at the top of the page next to the title, you can reach my profile by clicking the IG icon or looking it up through the username)

The best way to reach me would be through either Email or instagram, I am constantly checking both. Don't be shy! Even if you don’t have suggestions, if you need a safe space, feel emotionally/mentally stressed, are feeling anxious, depressed, or just need a friend, I am always available!





FAQs

Who Am I?

My Name is Jessica & I am a blogger for the CPSB (college prep student bubble) I was given the wonderful ability to create content for you all as a way to relax or entertain/learn while you prepare for AP/college.

What Are My Interests?

My interests include painting, volleyball, discovering music, reading (mostly sci-fi or romance), writing about absolutely anything and interacting with new people! I believe having hobbies and consistently participating in them helps you mentally and physically destress, so if you haven't done something you enjoy today, take the time to do it :).

What Do I Intend For This Blog?

This blog was created for you as a student to get some daily reading in on something that interests you. This became a resource because AP and college can very often be stressful and a handful, my purpose is to entertain you and help you stay motivated. My writing can be seen as a brain break or relaxer to those who are interested in it. I intend to make this a very chill spot for you all and to bring weekly content on any topic imaginable you suggest/want.

What Grade Am I In & What Courses Am I Taking?

I am an incoming Junior for the 2020-21 year, and will be graduating with the class of ‘22. I am an Early College High School student, so half of my classes are highschool and the other half are college. My classes this year will include: English 4 dual credit, Geometry PAP, Environmental Systems PAP, US History, (high school). For my first semester in college I am taking College English, Texas Government, and Philosophy.

More About My Writing: How did I come up with ‘The Greener Grass’? Very often I heard the saying “the grass isn't always greener on the other side” I decided to name my blog after this to give it a positive connotation: it doesn’t matter what side of the “grass’’ were on, sure it may not be the greenest, but I think that by being positive & interacting we can make our grass greener. To me this means we can help each other out, we can teach and learn from each other; we will all eventually feel stress, pressure, & frustration, but together we can make the most out of it and encourage each other & grow.

Cites used, referenced and helpful related to this content:




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page