top of page

How to Draw Better

Updated: Apr 1, 2021

How to Draw Better 


(this also applies to other art techniques/mediums for the most part)

– Recently I’ve been trying to get better at drawing. I think I’ve come a long way over the past year. I have no idea how interested you are in this post idea so let me know. I do NOT proclaim to be an expert or anything close, but I can say that I have improved, and I feel like this can apply to anyone regardless of how well they currently draw. Let me quickly say that I think everyone should try some sort of creative outlet, especially during hectic covid when we are isolated.

1) Simple references.

When you are first starting out, use the most basic and clear references you can find. If you are drawing people, try to avoid reference photos that have hands in them or difficult textured items. Steadily increase the complexity of your references, so that as you get comfortable drawing something you expand on it and explore more and more things until you can draw practically anything. Trust me this works. Over time you will see progress, and you’ll develop your own technique, style and pace. Remember that If you are using another artist’s work as a reference, always give them credit, and try to make it your own by incorporating your own style instead of merely copying.

2) Circles. 

It’s likely that you’ve heard this one, but try to blend in circular motions. This has definitely made a difference in my pieces, as my sketches take on more form and look more realistic. This also helps you build layers better, and mix colors better if that’s what you’re blending. Passing your writing utensil back and forth only does so much and ends up looking stiff and flat. Another thing to think about is how you hold your pencil (or other utensil). The higher up you hold it, the looser and freer your marks will be. This part is hard to describe, as I can envision someone just making scribbles when doing this. This lightens your marks and allows for a full range of motion. This takes practice, and gets better over time.

3) Experiment.

What can I say about this? Figure out something that you want to create, and then experiment with different techniques, and add to it. Change up the subject matter and vary the way you make it. Often this is how you discover your own style and develop skills in other mediums. Instead of just drawing cityscapes, try animals. Instead of flowers, try an architectural type sketch. Instead of hands, try faces, etc. The possibilities are as limitless as your imagination. You might end up liking your piece, you might not. But you pushed out of your comfort zone and that’s how you really end up growing.

4) Inspiration.

Many people say they only draw/do art when they feel a sudden burst of inspiration. I try to draw regardless of whether I feel inspired or not. Doing this (at least for me) helps me feel inspired more often, and helps me focus more, so when I do feel inspired I don’t get frustrated if/when I am no longer inspired by an idea. So while I suggest that you do art even when you don’t feel a burst of creativity, I think it’s important to recognize when/how you feel inspiration. Take note of occasions when you feel inspired so you can better recognize the source(s) of your creativity. You can then sort of control/influence inspiration. Doing this also helps you learn who you are (idk how to phrase that right).

5) Practice.

I have heard this a lot, and I kind of rolled my eyes at first, but eventually I made myself draw something everyday. It can seriously help you develop yourself as an artist. You can draw anything. This isn’t actually asking a lot, just sti down for even 5 minutes a day and sketch, doodle, paint etc. You will develop your skills more and won\’t get “rusty.” There’s something about it that helps you kind of refer to yourself as an artist. You familiarize yourself with what you love to do and do it often, and this is an amazing way to relieve stress, to exercise your self control, and to get some special art out of it.

Stay safe,

Mary

(p.s. I love feedback and suggestions for future posts)

8:00pm (GMT +3), Feb. 9th, 2021, Tuesday


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Greener Grass A Blog by Jessica Nino

The Greener Grass A Blog by Jessica Nino Tip Of The Day: “Let your unique awesomeness and positive energy inspire confidence in others.” -Anonymous. Whatever energy you have, your surroundings will so

The Greener Grass: Medical Racism & Discrimination

The Greener Grass A Blog by Jessica Nino Tip Of The Day: find one thing to be thankful for today. You are alive and i’m thankful for that. <3 Medical Racism & Discrimination: What is it? All used sour

Grandmother's Kitchen.

My grandmother’s kitchen has always been small-with a stove, a miniature oven, and a diminutive shelf for hanging kitchen tools. But out of it came dishes redolent in aromas: steaming noodles, a nest

bottom of page