top of page

Shakshouka

I recall being friends with a Tunisian girl, in my old school back in Asia.


I remember her for two reasons: -She gifted me a cereal bracelet(which I consumed in days..I was a ravenous 8 year old.)

-She gave me a piece of notebook paper, containing a star of the culinary world.. Which is none other than the famed dish, shakshouka. It is a flavorful dish of eggs, poached in a sauce of tomatoes, olive oil, peppers, onion, and garlic. Shakshouka is commonly spiced with condiments such as cumin, paprika, and cayenne pepper.


According to Wikipedia(and my friend at the time), Shakshouka, in Arabic, meant "a mixture". I was extremely enthralled by the specific Arabic term, although I could never get my tongue to exactly pronounce the word correctly.


Nowadays I am no longer in Asia, and I have unfortunately lost contact with my lovely Tunisian friend. However, I still remember the young friendship by making the dish, usually on rainy days, or on days where I return from school and feel like cooking a rich, soul-fulfilling meal.


I usually added preserved lemon zest(a favorite of mine) and some crumbled feta cheese to the shakshouka once it is finished cooking, so the diverse myriad of flavors will mingle.


To my Tunisian friend: Shukran. You are missed.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page