top of page

The Greener Grass: The U.S. Coin Shortage

Updated: Apr 1, 2021

The Greener Grass

A Blog by Jessica Nino

Tip Of The Day: Be nice to yourself, and remember that you are loved. <3


On June 11th, 2020 the Federal Reserve announced that due to the CoronaVirus Pandemic, there seemed to be a disruption in the circulation of coins. Due to this, coins would be distributed at a smaller fraction to local businesses.

The Coin Shortage Dilemma and What It Means for Us:


What Is A Coin Shortage?

A coin shortage is exactly what it sounds like, not enough coins. This means less coins are going to banks near you. Coin shortages are due to these things: slowed production, exchange, and an actual loss of coins. In our particular situation however, it is not the production of coins we’re struggling with, it's the distribution of them. Because of the pandemic, many coin centered services shut down. These included: laundromats, arcades, vending machines, and secured parking lots.

Are We Really In A Coin Shortage?

If you’ve been out to any store in the last couple of weeks, you may have recently noticed a very strange requirement: exact change. News and Radio stations have been blaming it over and over again on one thing: the pandemic that has taken over our lives. But with this news many people (myself included) have asked the same question over and over: Are we really having a coin shortage? How is that even possible? The answer to that question is yes and no. As I mentioned in the previous section, the U.S. is not having trouble making coins; in fact, we are making more coins than we were before.

How Am I Affected?

Our problem comes in when the distribution steps into the process of the money cycle. Because of the pandemic, people began to fear the risk of spreading coronavirus through coins and exchanging money. The truth is, this coin shortage will most likely make you pay more for whatever you’re buying unless you pay with a card. Multi-million dollar companies are making donations your only resort to make your amount even instead of giving any change out.

How Can I Help?

Certain banks are allowing you to come in and exchange your coins to receive the amount in bills or added to your card even if you aren't a member of their services. In addition, some are meeting a “goal” or expectation to reach and will give you more money if you meet it with the amount of change you bring in. To make this concept simpler and easier to understand, banks will pay you if you bring a large amount of money in coins.

How Are Companies Affected By This?

Small and local companies are being affected because since they aren't connected to donation centers, they cannot offer the option of donation. Many have had to round their products down, losing cents that add up in a day's worth and harming their total revenue. Small and local companies, as well as gas stations are facing the most damage from this as they are receiving the smallest fractions of coins compared to what they used to receive from banks.

What Does This Mean For The Economy?

Although the coin shortage is an issue right now, many are suggesting this will find a balance and be normal when businesses that slowly open up. As arcades, laundromats, carwashes, parking spaces for large events, and vending machines, coins will begin to circle into our daily cycle of spending once again.


How Can I Support Small Shops Struggling With This?

Although it might be easier to do it at banks, some shops are taking your change and paying you for it as well. Giving them change would help the business more because only a fraction of what you would have given to the bank would go to them. Instead of doing that you will be given them a bigger amount and helping their revenue which they most likely are already struggling with due to the pandemic.

If you do not have change to trade in, you can simply do the following:

Shout them out on your social media

Recommend them to a friend

Try to shop there frequently

Give them a good review

Give them feedback and engage with their posts




Contact me



Hi! I would love to hear your ideas, suggestions, and feedback on the content I am regularly publishing! I believe it is important I stay connected with yall and am able to positively connect and learn from yalls criticism and suggestions to help me improve as a writer. I encourage you to send me ideas and suggestions based on what you’d like to read about so that I can regularly connect with you all as well as better understand your interests, and help y’all destress, learn, and enjoy my content. -Love, J

You can contact me through the following links and medias:

Gmail: jessicanino2004@gmail.com

Twitter: 1andxnlynino

And

Instagram: jjessicaninoo (also found at the top of the page next to the title, you can reach my profile by clicking the IG icon or looking it up through the username)

The best way to reach me would be through either Email or instagram, I am constantly checking both. Don't be shy! Even if you don’t have suggestions, if you need a safe space, feel emotionally/mentally stressed, are feeling anxious, depressed, or just need a friend, I am always available!





FAQs

Who Am I?

My Name is Jessica & I am a blogger for the CPSB (college prep student bubble) I was given the wonderful ability to create content for you all as a way to relax or entertain/learn while you prepare for AP/college.

What Are My Interests?

My interests include painting, volleyball, discovering music, reading (mostly sci-fi or romance), writing about absolutely anything and interacting with new people! I believe having hobbies and consistently participating in them helps you mentally and physically destress, so if you haven't done something you enjoy today, take the time to do it :).

What Do I Intend For This Blog?

This blog was created for you as a student to get some daily reading in on something that interests you. This became a resource because AP and college can very often be stressful and a handful, my purpose is to entertain you and help you stay motivated. My writing can be seen as a brain break or relaxer to those who are interested in it. I intend to make this a very chill spot for you all and to bring weekly content on any topic imaginable you suggest/want.

What Grade Am I In & What Courses Am I Taking?

I am an incoming Junior for the 2020-21 year, and will be graduating with the class of ‘22. I am an Early College High School student, so half of my classes are highschool and the other half are college. My classes this year will include: English 4 dual credit, Geometry PAP, Environmental Systems PAP, US History, (high school). For my first semester in college I am taking College English, Texas Government, and Philosophy.

More About My Writing: How did I come up with ‘The Greener Grass’? Very often I heard the saying “the grass isn't always greener on the other side” I decided to name my blog after this to give it a positive connotation: it doesn’t matter what side of the “grass’’ were on, sure it may not be the greenest, but I think that by being positive & interacting we can make our grass greener. To me this means we can help each other out, we can teach and learn from each other; we will all eventually feel stress, pressure, & frustration, but together we can make the most out of it and encourage each other & grow.

Cites used, referenced and helpful related to this content:





6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page