top of page

Things to Consider Before Voting in the 2020 Election

Updated: Apr 1, 2021

The Greener Grass

A Blog by Jessica Nino                                                                        

Tip Of The Day: You are responsible for your actions, be the change you want to see


Things to Consider Before Voting in the 2020 Election

And any election really,

For many, this is the first election you’ve probably paid attention to, had the right to vote in, felt the pressure between candidates, and wondered what the next four years will hold. If this is the first election you can vote in or you’re still nearing the voting age, I think it’s important that we know how to vote when we finally have the chance to. Even if the options seem bad, or both seem good, or both seem useless; here are some things to consider before casting your vote:

This week we will be considering the 2 biggest parties: Democrats & Republicans

Values:

Although I do not think one should vote solely on values, I do think they play a rather large role on what laws and choices will be made for our country. Values will tend to influence some of the other categories shown below. Traditionally, republicans are known to be on the more conservative side of values while Democrats side more towards the liberal side of the spectrum. Here are some main views and values both parties hold: 

Disclaimer: I am aware not everyone from either party agrees with all the ideologies of the party nor am I using a biased view for this chart. The representatives for each party today will be Joe Biden and Donald Trump

To understand this chart better watch the first link on my sources cited page:


Social Ideologies

Democrat

Republican 

Abortion

Pro-Choice 

Pro-Life

Affirmative Action

Favor 

Against

Guns

Pro gun control

Pro gun rights 

Crime 

Social Issues

Defendants rights 

Tougher policing laws

Economic Ideologies 

Taxing 

Higher taxing is okay especially on rich 

(higher) tax is not okay

Spending 

Okay, especially on social programs 

Not okay, except military

Regulating 

Favor 

Against 

Military 

Basic (but have a tendency to love military almost as much as Republicans)

Strong 

The Pandemic:

Donald Trump: The president has mentioned he wants to continue opening everything again to ensure our economy doesn’t face any more damage. 

Joe Biden: Joe Biden proposes closing public spaces again and calls for a mask mandate to ensure the pandemic and infection rate can be handled and to flatten the curve.

Racial/Police Opinions:

Both are in favor of the police and against defunding. 

Donald Trump: Calls for a new training but overall calls for them to fight back with whatever force needed.

 Told Proud Boys to “stand back, and stand down” 

Joe Biden: Mentioned he wants to fund to have people on scenes with police to better evaluate the situation, and for police to focus better on jobs.

Said “ Poor kids are just as bright and just as talented as white kids”

Climate Change:

Donald Trump: Insists we have the cleanest air and freshest water. Sees no problem with climate and ensures it is under control. “Americans have long been told that our country is running out of energy, but we now know that is wrong. America’s energy revolution has produced affordable, reliable energy for consumers along with stable, high-paying jobs for small businesses—all while dropping carbon emissions to their lowest level in 25 years. American energy policy must balance environmental protection with economic growth in order to encourage innovation, discovery, and prosperity.” – Energy & Environment, The White House 

Joe Biden: Proposes Green New Deal. 

“Biden believes the Green New Deal is a crucial framework for meeting the climate challenges we face. It powerfully captures two basic truths, which are at the core of his plan: (1) the United States urgently needs to embrace greater ambition on an epic scale to meet the scope of this challenge, and (2) our environment and our economy are completely and totally connected.

The Biden Plan will: 

Ensure the U.S. achieves a 100% clean energy economy and reaches net-zero emissions no later than 2050.

Build a stronger, more resilient nation.

Rally the rest of the world to meet the threat of climate change.

Stand up to the abuse of power by polluters who disproportionately harm communities of color and low-income communities.

Fulfill our obligation to workers and communities who powered our industrial revolution and subsequent decades of economic growth.” – Plan for Climate Change & Environmental Justice, Joe Biden 

Although these are not all of the things you should consider before voting, I do hope you consider these things and find what you stand for and what you want to see for our country. It is your right to vote, so please: go do it. Your time is now.

All resources cited below. 


Contact me

Hi! I would love to hear your ideas, suggestions, and feedback on the content I am regularly publishing! I believe it is important I stay connected with yall and am able to positively connect and learn from yalls criticism and suggestions to help me improve as a writer. I encourage you to send me ideas and suggestions based on what you’d like to read about so that I can regularly connect with you all as well as better understand your interests, and help y’all destress, learn, and enjoy my content. -Love, J

You can contact me through the following links and medias:

Gmail: jessicanino2004@gmail.com

Twitter: 1andxnlynino 

And 

Instagram: jjessicaninoo (also found at the top of the page next to the title, you can reach my profile by clicking the IG icon or looking it up through the username)

The best way to reach me would be through either Email or instagram, I am constantly checking both. Don\’t be shy! Even if you don’t have suggestions, if you need a safe space, feel emotionally/mentally stressed, are feeling anxious, depressed, or just need a friend, I am always available!


FAQs

Who Am I? 

My Name is Jessica & I am a blogger for the CPSB (college prep student bubble) I was given the wonderful ability to create content for you all as a way to relax or entertain/learn while you prepare for AP/college. 

What Are My Interests? 

My interests include painting, volleyball, discovering music, reading (mostly sci-fi or romance), writing about absolutely anything and interacting with new people! I believe having hobbies and consistently participating in them helps you mentally and physically destress, so if you haven\’t done something you enjoy today, take the time to do it :). 

What Do I Intend For This Blog?

This blog was created for you as a student to get some daily reading in on something that interests you. This became a resource because AP and college can very often be stressful and a handful, my purpose is to entertain you and help you stay motivated. My writing can be seen as a brain break or relaxer to those who are interested in it. I intend to make this a very chill spot for you all and to bring weekly content on any topic imaginable you suggest/want. 

What Grade Am I In & What Courses Am I Taking?

I am an incoming Junior for the 2020-21 year, and will be graduating with the class of ‘22. I am an Early College High School student, so half of my classes are highschool and the other half are college. My classes this year will include: English 4 dual credit, Geometry PAP, Environmental Systems PAP, US History, (high school). For my first semester in college I am taking College English, Texas Government, and Philosophy. 

More About My Writing: How did I come up with ‘The Greener Grass’? Very often I heard the saying “the grass isn\’t always greener on the other side” I decided to name my blog after this to give it a positive connotation: it doesn’t matter what side of the “grass’’ were on, sure it may not be the greenest, but I think that by being positive & interacting we can make our grass greener. To me this means we can help each other out, we can teach and learn from each other; we will all eventually feel stress, pressure, & frustration, but together we can make the most out of it and encourage each other & grow. 

Cites used, referenced and helpful related to this content:

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page